TPP receives "Excellence in Community Organizing" award



NEWS RELEASE                                                                             
_________________________________________________________________________________NPC logo
November 20, 2012
Contact:  Leigh Kunde - 414-344-3933 -                      
Nonprofit Excellence Award Winners Announced

Outstanding Organizations Will Be Honored at the 18th Annual

Spirit of the Nonprofit Sector Celebration - Thursday, December 6

Six area organizations will be presented with Nonprofit Excellence Awards for exemplary practices at “Spirit of the Nonprofit Sector – A Celebration of Excellence” on Thursday, December 6, 4:30-6:30 p.m. at the Italian Community Center in Milwaukee.
The Nonprofit Center of Milwaukee announced the winners today and will present the awards at the annual celebration, which includes a reception open to the public. A selection committee of nonprofit representatives and consultants reviewed 30 nominations that met the criteria in six categories and picked the best of the best. The winners are:
Beyond Vision (Wiscraft, Inc.) – Excellence in Fiscal Integrity
Milwaukee Public Theatre – Excellence in Diversity
The Parenting Network – Excellence in Board Governance
The Park People – Excellence in Community Organizing
St. Ann Center for Intergenerational Care – Excellence in Innovation
Urban Ecology Center – Excellence in Collaboration
“For the past 17 years the nonprofit sector has come together at our annual gathering to celebrate diversity,” said Leigh Kunde, Nonprofit Center Executive Director. “This year we are showcasing true excellence in organizational management and mission achievement. All of the stories told with the nominations were tremendous, well representing the hundreds of nonprofits that serve the people of our community each and every day,” Kunde said.
Tickets to the awards presentation and reception are available at
Cost is $25 or two for $40. Proceeds will support training and other services to help local nonprofits achieve excellence. For more information call 414-344-3933.
See next page for more on the winning organizations and contact information for each.
The 2012 Nonprofit Excellence Awards are sponsored by the Nonprofit Center of Milwaukee and General Mills; Morgan Stanley Smith Barney; Reilly, Penner & Benton LLP; RitzHolman CPAs; Stivers Staffing Services and Wegner CPAs.
More than 40 Milwaukee area nonprofit organizations are community co-sponsors.
2012 Nonprofit Excellence Award Winners
Each of this year’s awards is dedicated to an individual who, with extraordinary lifelong service, left an indelible mark on the nonprofit sector and our community.
Beyond Vision (Wiscraft, Inc.)
Providing opportunities for sustainable employment to individuals who are blind
Excellence in Fiscal Integrity Award (dedicated to Linda Austin)
Nominator: Kelly Draves - Beyond Vision, 414-778-5804,
Milwaukee Public Theatre
Making the arts accessible, increasing awareness of current social issues, promoting diversity, and providing healing arts resources
Excellence in Diversity Award (dedicated to Betty Thompson)
Nominator: Emilio De Torre - ACLU of Wisconsin, 414-305, 8569,
The Parenting Network
Strengthening parenting and preventing child abuse
Excellence in Board Governance Award (dedicated to Peter Goldberg)\
Nominator: David Frieder - U.S. Bank, 414-905-7080,
The Park People
Citizen stewardship of Milwaukee County Parks
Excellence in Community Organizing Award (dedicated to Paul Bloyd)
Nominator: Susan Spoerk - Thomson Reuters, 414-649-0440,


St. Ann Center for Intergenerational Care
Providing community-based health and educational services for children and frail adults and resources and support for caregivers
Excellence in Innovation Award (dedicated to Harry Franke)
Nominator: Barbara Keyes - St. Ann Center, 414-977-5026,
Urban Ecology Center
Fostering ecological understanding as inspiration for change, neighborhood by neighborhood
Excellence in Collaboration Award (dedicated to Ramon Wagner)
Nominator: Carolyn Kott Washburne, 414-961-1779,