Past Presidents

Past Leadership

Past Presidents and term years

  • Nadine Weske, 2018-2021
    Kathryn Ciurlik, 2016-2018
  • Susan Spoerk, 2013-2016
  • Dan Cody, 2009-2013
  • Deb Lukovich, 2006-2009
  • Jim Price, 2004-2006
  • John Vandlik, 2002-2004
  • Layfayette McKinney, 2000-2002
  • Jan Grosenick, 1998-2000
  • Diane Buck, 1996-1998
  • Margarete Harvey, 1994-1996
  • Robert Cowan, 1992-1994
  • Mary Kamps, 1990-1992
  • Robert Mikula, 1988-1990
  • Wade Mosby, 1986-1988
  • Quentin V. Zillig, 1984-1986
  • Robert M. Galecke, 1982-1984
  • John T. Byrnes, 1980-1982
  • Roger L. Boerner, 1978-1980

Many thanks for your volunteer time and dedication to the Park People

The Park People are passionate about Milwaukee County Parks

Through the decades, volunteers have stepped up to help protect and enhance parks and trails by forming and facilitating Friends Groups, taking aim at evasive species through Weed-Out® programs, raising funds and engaging the community through park programs including the Oak Leaf Discovery Tour®. These volunteers give their time and money to support our parks, which are a precious asset to be enjoyed not only today but for generations to come.


We all have our own individual “reasons” why we love parks, whether we go there to play, sightsee, relax or exercise and while to each their own, they are a shared asset for the community to enjoy. The Park People is an organization that can stand proud for the indelible mark it has made and continues to make for us all to enjoy our priceless parks.

-Susan Spoerk, Past President